click here to go to the homepage
Jump to Content

Heritage Coasts

Heritage Coasts are a non-statutory landscape definition, used only in England and Wales, and are defined by agreement between the relevant maritime local authorities and Natural England or CCW.

In England, there are currently 32 sections of Heritage Coast covering 1,057 km.

Most are part of a National Park or AONB.

Click here to open in a new window

In Wales, there are 14 sections of Heritage Coast:

For more information, see in a new window

In practice, designation of Heritage Coast is, of itself, unlikely to affect recreational activity. However, many of the Heritage Coasts are designated under other (statutory) mechanisms and so these will be more pertinent.

Many sections of the Scottish and Northern Ireland coasts are of heritage value but this designation is not used in these countries.

click here to go to top

Click here to go back to the About Designations page